Your guide to the chakras

Apr 09, 2021
Posted in: Well-being   Posted by: Ragdale Hall Spa

There are seven chakras which are the main energy centres of the body. When our chakras become blocked- usually due to repressed emotions such as anger, grief, sadness, worry or fear, this can inhibit the natural flow of energy around the body, which disrupts the mind, body and spirit connection. In this blog, we’ll take a brief look at the seven chakras and how to keep positive energy flowing.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the highest chakra and is located on top of our head, drawing energy upwards. It represents our sense of consciousness, and a connection to spirituality.


Third Eye

The Third eye, located roughly in the middle of our forehead, represents our connection to our intuition, that’s why it’s sometimes referred to as ‘the eye of the soul’. If you want to develop your third eye, you could try some meditation techniques using an Amethyst crystal.


Throat Chakra

The throat chakra (the clue is in the name!) gives voice to our thoughts and feelings. If our throat chakra becomes blocked, we may experience some trouble communicating with others, and if it is open, we are able to express ourselves clearly and confidently. If we ‘open through the throat’ in yoga, we usually tilt our head slightly backwards when in a pose, such as a seated position or in Camel Pose.


Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is often referred to as the bridge between the upper and lower chakras. A person with a blocked heart chakra will struggle to truly open up to others. An open heart represents love, joy and inner peace. In yoga, there are plenty of ‘heart opening’ postures such as Camel Pose, and any pose which requires you to shine your heart forward, usually during twists or backbends.


Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra, found in our upper stomach, represents our ability to be self-confident and is linked to our sense of self-worth. If you’ve ever had the feeling of ‘butterflies’, this may be your solar plexus chakra kicking in!


Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra, located in the lower stomach, control our sense of pleasure, well-being and creativity. If this chakra becomes blocked, you may be feeling like your life isn’t fully in your control, or you might be having issues creatively- does writer’s block sound familiar?


Root Chakra

The Root Chakra represents our foundation and is located at the base of our spine. If it becomes blocked, we might feel unstable or uncertain, but if it’s open, we may feel more confident and grounded. In yoga, we can tap into our root chakra via warrior pose.

If you suspect your chakras might be blocked, and you feel like you could benefit from some expert guidance, at Ragdale Hall we offer a range of wellness treatments such as Reiki and Sensory Journey which can restore peace and harmony to your mind, body and spirit.

View our wellness treatments

Plus, throughout May and June 2021, we are offering 10% off selected wellness treatments* including Reiki, Shiatsu, Hopi Heaven, SOS Remedial Massage, Access Bars and the Heavenly Holistic Facial. Find out more here.

*Terms and conditions apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *